Nachalat Binyamin, The Dolphinarium

It’s Dec. 31, 1999 and I’m driving from my hometown of Jerusalem to Tel Aviv with my love.
First destination: Nachal Binyamit, to the artist shuk. Objective: To buy a ring that symbolizes our decision to marry.
It’s hard to find a ring my size, small enough for me that won’t look too childish. Everyone suggests that I should order one and come back next week to get it. Next week?? That will be in the next millennium!! I’ve waited over 30 years, I want a ring NOW. We went through every stall, and finally found one. There wasn’t a happier person on earth than me.
Next destination: The Beach. It was getting late and we didn’t want to miss the last sunset of the millennium. On the Tel Aviv beach, we watched a round blazing sun descending for its last time into the sea, into the new millennium. The drum circle that had gathered on the beach sang to me a farewell song to my old life as a bachelorette, and the start of a new era.

Leave a comment

Filed under Victory achieved

Share your Tel Aviv story

